top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturedee

Hey, Beautiful :)


Greetings,my precious internet people!


Before you go all ninja on me, Im sorry for disappearing and not posting for quite some time. I have been buried work with my school magazine ( if you're from my school, you can check out my poem when it's published teehee ). Oh, and I got accepted into this 2 month programme so this would probably the last post up until then.


Judging by the title, you can probably guess what today's topic is. It is actually something that's been tumbling around my head for a long time but somehow I always thought people won't care what I have to say. Recently, I realised : So what ? Maybe no one would listen but it is my opinion. I strongly believe that even if it is one small voice in a crowd, someone will hear it. Even if that's not so, I have nothing to lose.


I found this video while I was doing some research and I thought this would be a convincing statement to back me up. I'll put it here for you guys to watch :




When we were kids, beauty was something with infinite definitions. We would come across broken and worn-out things and see the better picture. God, children are so pure. Little us would have never seen the flaws we point out today. What happened to that little kid with joy coursing in his veins ? My best guess is that society happened. We grew up with a mould of what beauty should be and suddenly, all we could think of was how to fit into that mould. The oversized longs to be skinny and the petite dreams of being tall. Nothing is right with our body because we were taught that other people besides ourselves are pretty. Yet, when we do something to be the normalised image of grace and perfection, we are shamed. They go on and on how naturally we are beautiful but they still judge if some of us go out bare-faced. Especially the men who say they like a girl with no makeup and curves but the second we expose our true selves they run for the hills. It's getting tiring, don't you think?


Well, guess what ? We define our own beauty. Have you heard what those kids had to say because man are they wise beyond their years. I say to hell with society's standards. You wanna wear makeup ? Go crazy my dudes. You wanna be fit (with the condition that you do it the healthy way ) ? The world is your gymnasium. Your face is yours. Your body is yours. Your life, my darlings, is yours. Bear in mind that our bodies are there for us to express ourselves. So do it. Be an artist and paint the world. We can't shut them up but we can choose to ignore them. Da Vinci would not have been famous if he believed in society's definition of art.


This is a reminder to us all. If a girl posts pictures on her social media, you have no right to tell her it is wrong. You most definitely cannot say she's showing off. SOCIAL MEDIA ITSELF IS A PLATFORM FOR EXPRESSION so let the girl breathe. Honestly, as a girl myself, most of the time I don't post pictures for the sake of comments. I post because once in while, I feel confident. You might not like how I look but I do. Those pictures are there because I want to see them and I don't give a damn if you don't. Of course there are some days that I feel so insecure. Maybe you don't hear this much but BEING INSECURE IS OKAY. Those insecurities are also a part of you that you need to learn to love. Forget what those inspirational figures say about loving yourself. Um, since when does being insecure mean that you don't love yourself? I repeat this again, IT IS YOUR BODY. You can feel insecure and you can do anything to make yourself have that confidence again. Beauty is subjective. Everyone has their own interpretation but it is theirs and theirs alone. You don't get a say in what others define beauty as. You also don't get to beat yourself up if your beauty standards do not meet others. Don't let it get you depressed.


My dear dear girls, I wish my message could be spread wide enough because I know we all forget sometimes. I may be preaching now but tomorrow I'd still stand in front of the mirror and feel unsure. But please remember that the opinion you have on your body is yours. Do anything you have to to feel confident. Yes, it's true how they say confidence can make you look so so beautiful. The thing that they forget to tell you is that you can do anything in order to make you feel sure of yourself. I know my advice is weird and it clashes with the idea of self-love. Who cares ? You get to choose how to love yourself. ( Just don't do anything that is detrimental because i am not condoning torture for beauty )


Growth is the process of finding yourself. And beauty is when you have found your voice. If you dont feel pretty now, then maybe you just have to keep on looking. What im trying to say is that in the exploration of beauty, there is no right or wrong answer. It is all up to you. You get to decide, my loves. Alas, this is only my point of view. True to my own words, I wont force you to believe what I say but I sure as hell want to keep on saying it. * Expression *


Hey beautiful, you just keep on doing you. Everything else will fall into place.


Love,

Dee <3





38 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 comentário


pololopo
23 de jan. de 2020

Loveee it <3

Curtir
bottom of page