top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturedee

Defying Gravity

What's shaking internet people ?


It's almost new year !! * cue fireworks * Here is a lesson we can all learn from.


One fine day, an apple fell on our good pal Isaac's head and boom , gravity was discovered.


It's funny how one small inanimate object so long ago can cause such a huge change for humanity today. Well, we can talk about the butterfly effect some other day but for now it's all about gravity. If you look at it that way though.


Okay so for those of you who dont know, gravity is one of the fundamental forces and it has many definitions from a lot of great professors. However, the explanation needed here is that gravity is a force that pulls a body to the centre of the earth. Here's where the fun begins.Hold on to this definition because in a few minutes, I am going to give you a metaphor that may or may not change your life ( let a girl dream okay ).


17 years of life and the one thing I fear the most is change. From my observation, most of society also fears the same. How could you not ? It is terrifying when something happens and ruin your whole system. Maybe you liked doing things in a certain way and at the possibilty of doing it a whole different way, you just break down. Change has terrorised me my whole life. I usually take a long time to adapt to new surroundings and when I do, I will take every single measure in assuring things stay the same. For a big part of my short life, I spent it trying to control everything. In my mind, if I could authorize the moves of people around me, I could keep things just the way they were. Then in 2019, change decided to punch me in the face.


It was my senior year of high school. Me trying to be the self-diagnosed OCD that I am started navigating my friends to fall into our regular school routine. But my efforts could only go on for so long. When one of my best friends switched schools, it was the start of everything coming apart. I refused to actually enjoy my senior year because I was so busy trying to fix things that didn't even need fixing. Big mistake. As the year unfolded, everything changed. It was basically unavoidable as it was my last year of high school. The horror of it all rattled me. I actually got sick from the stress : a whole month of stomach cramps. My mom being my mom tried to knock some sense into me. And I think it actually worked. Seeing my friends having an awesome time just living out their lives made me wonder what all the fuss was about. It's not when I woke up with an apple on my bed that I came to a complete realisation.


Change is like gravity.


It's not something you can avoid because it is a force of nature. Change pulls you to the centre of your success just as gravity pulls you to the earth. Without it, you'll be left floating in uncertainty, trapped in a repetitive cycle. If you think about it, change is what makes you grow. Both literally and figuratively. I know it's scary but that's the point, you're supposed to be scared. Fear is not stopping you from doing great things. You are stopping yourself. Take all that anxiety of an unknown future and use it as a drive. A drive to be a better you. Let the change in and witness how far it will take you. 2020 is almost here, signalling the end to a memorable decade. The decade is over people ! Bigger change is coming so just let it come. You have to be at peace with life and it's lemons because only then will you be able to enjoy the lemonade.


Take it from a girl who took 17 years to see the bigger picture, do not waste your happy moments just worrying about the bad ones. You bet I'm still terrified out of my mind when something new is in it's works. Here's the thing, no matter what Elphaba says, you can't defy gravity. So let go, and just let it pull you through. I'll see you on the other side.


XOXO,

Dee <3





47 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

2 Comments


pololopo
Jan 09, 2020

Pls dont leave your reader hang up here ☹ Btw when will you post your next writing

Like

pololopo
Dec 30, 2019

This one inspiring me VERY MUCH THANKYOU!! btw sorry to ask. What are the thing you tried to fix dee?

Like
bottom of page